I Haz a Book Blog Now

Standard

So I’ve finally done it, taken that tremendous leap into the life of a blogger. The reasons include but are not limited to: forcing myself to write, and (hopefully) write often; for friends and family (That’s you!) to keep up with what I’m reading and what I am or am not recommending they read, to get myself to read more, in quantity and also in relation to unfamiliar genres; and getting myself to constantly flex my critiquing muscles. And oh yeah, because I want to be a part of the Blogging For Books community where I get books sent to me for free in exchange for a review of that book on their site and my blog.

Basically it’s a win-win-win. Personally for me because I love to read and write and I’d love the opportunity to keep getting stronger at both. Professionally as well because I’d like to read, evaluate and help shape books for publication for a living, so this will help not only my evaluation and shaping skills, but also keep me up to date with the current market and others’ reviews as well. And finally a win for you, reader, because you’ll also get a glimpse into what’s being published, what I think about it, and hopefully you’ll join in the conversation and discuss what you’re reading and/or share your reviews of the same titles, book nerd to book nerd.

To start off I’ll be adding reviews of books I’ve read in the past, mostly those that I’ve reviewed on Goodreads previously. I’m looking to take those reviews and expand on them, getting more in depth with what was working and what wasn’t, and making them stronger, blog-worthy reviews. As I said, please comment with your thoughts/reviews along the way; half the fun I feel will come from that interaction. And also, please, please, please read, share, like, retweet the blog to help me reach as many other book nerds as possible. I’ll keep this one (relatively) short and sweet, and you keep your eye out for the first couple of reviews which I’m sure I’ll get around to posting over the holiday weekend.

P.S. I’m EXTREMELY open to suggestions/requests of books for me to read and review, so please don’t be shy in posting those.

And on that note, I’ll leave you with words from one of my favorite authors, and hope that you enjoy Amber Reads a Book: “Hobey ho, let’s go!”

Leave a Reply

