Lord of the Flies

Standard

Review #2: Fiction

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

I wanted to like this book, because it’s a classic, because so many others have obviously liked it, because I knew the basic idea of what the story was about and the themes that run through it, and it sounds like a great book. Perhaps my expectations were therefore set too high, but man, I just wanted so much more from this book than was given. It mostly has to do with the writing itself, which I tried to take with a grain of salt considering the age of the text, but still reading this was like pulling teeth. I read the Kindle edition of this which I got on loan from the library, and I was constantly wondering if the file was bad; I felt like the words being used were wrong because in so many cases full sentences didn’t make sense, I thought whole pages were missing because scenes jumped around so much and new characters were introduced and then vanished after saying one line. Anyway, I’ll get into the nitty-gritty post rant. Let me just say that the idea for this story is a great one, but the execution of it was atrocious.

There is no character development, horrible scene setting, barely a plot with little to no explanation of events, irrelevant and unnecessary description, and events that don’t impact the story at all. The author uses words and phrases that maybe made sense when this was written but definitely do not make sense now. I wanted this to be so much better, and I think the general story written by someone else would have been. The writing was just awful. Dialog especially was all over the place; I hardly ever knew who was speaking. I was lost and uninterested nearly start to finish. The last chapter was by far the most well-written and the only redeeming quality because it finally put the overly-expressed idea of needing a fire and smoke to use. Really the book should have been called, “I’ve got the conch!” or “We need a fire/smoke” because the repetition of those two things was mind-numbing.

I feel 2 out of 5 stars is generous.

*Cover art from Amazon.com

One thought on “Lord of the Flies

Leave a Reply

